Mins Game: January

January was a general clear out month to get us started. I wanted to see how many items I could declutter easily to give us some momentum. Here’s what we came up with:

  • old rice cooker
  • Audrey’s too small raincoat
  • Audrey’s winter jacket with broken zipper
  • box of glass christmas ornaments (beautiful ornaments, but with a toddler helping decorate and play around, I don’t want to be worried about broken glass each year)
  • TV Stand
  • TV
  • couch
  • 3 pairs of tights
  • 10 bath toys
  • pair of ripped slippers
  • Greg winter coat
  • Greg rain coat
  • Kylie winter boots
  • Greg 7 shirts
  • 2 pairs of socks
  • Kylie 2 sweaters
  • small chalkboard
  • 2 used up candles
  • 1 TB hard drive (!!!! this has been 5 years in the making. I’m not kidding. I want to BURN THIS THING)
  • salt and pepper shakers
  • an old pillow
  • decor removed from an old wreath I repurposed
  • a beautiful but uncomfortable bra I never wear
  • cd organizer that’s now EMPTY (stay tuned for February)
  • box ofย toys Audrey decluttered (45 items)*
  • 1 uncomfortable dress

*I never intended to go through Audrey’s toys. As the primary spender and hoarder in our household, I recognized that if I was more intentional with my items, I could lead by example. After all this was my project, not theirs. And I was right! I’ll go into this another time, but needless to say those 45 items Audrey decluttered herself.

A couple of these things we were able to sell, others were given to friends who will use them and some were either thrown out or given to donation centres.

That’s 91ย individual items plus a box of decorations, and a 1TB hard drive full of old videos and documents. Not a bad start to the year, and just the momentum we needed for next month’s challenge: CD/DVD/Records/VideoGames

Leave a Reply

